Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Apply for Sponsorship to Attend 2020 HERS Institutes

Chancellor Donde Plowman and the Commission for Women will sponsor two outstanding women to attend a Higher Education Resource Services (HERS) Institute in 2020.

Women faculty members or administrators who have a proven record of professional growth and responsibility and a keen interest in campus administration and the challenges of growing a university are encouraged to review the three institute programs to find one that best suits their circumstances.

The Bryn Mawr Summer Institute offers a two-week residential program. The HERS Institute at Wellesley College offers four three-day sessions during the 2020-21 academic year. The HERS Institute at the University of Denver offers a two-week residential program.

HERS Institutes provide exposure to new ideas, foster mentoring relationships, and prepare women for institutional leadership roles.

Applicants are asked to submit a current CV; a letter describing the applicant’s reasons for application; and a letter of support from her dean, director, department head, or supervisor to Rachel Chen, chair of the Commission for Women at The deadline to submit applications is October 4.

Outstanding applicants will be recommended to Chancellor Plowman for her review and selection. Each candidate must then apply to her chosen institute and provide required documents by the institute’s deadline. The Office of the Chancellor will provide the registration fee, which includes food for all institutes and lodging for the Bryn Mawr and Denver Institutes. Applicants to the Wellesley Institute should seek support from their department or college for transportation and lodging.

Past HERS Institutes participants from UT include:

  • Dixie Thompson, vice provost and dean of the Graduate School
  • Mary Lucal, associate vice chancellor for human resources
  • Jennifer Richter, associate vice chancellor and director of the Office of Equity and Diversity
  • Catherine Luther, professor and director, School of Journalism and Electronic Media
  • Veerle Keppens, professor and head, Department of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Sherry Cummings, professor and associate dean, College of Social Work
  • Deborah Welsh, professor and head, Department of Psychology
  • Rachel Chen, professor, Department of Retail, Hospitality, and Tourism Management
  • Camille Hall, associate professor, College of Social Work
  • Joan Heminway, professor, College of Law
  • Hillary Fouts, professor, Department of Child and Family Studies
  • Stephanie TerMaath, assistant professor, Department of Mechanical, Aerospace and Biomedical Engineering
  • Alison Buchan, professor, Department of Microbiology
  • Lisa Yamagata-Lynch,ombudsperson, Office of the Chancellor
  • Kate Jones, professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy