Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Congratulations to the 2022 HERS Leadership Institute Scholarship Recipients!

The University of Tennessee Chancellor’s Commission for Women has selected Dr. Javiette Samuel and Dr. Ozlem Kilic as the 2022 Higher Education Resource Services (HERS) scholarship recipients based on their dedication to leadership and proven records of growth. Through this scholarship, these two outstanding female faculty/administrators will be sponsored to attend the HERS Leadership Institute, held either online or in-person at various times of the year. 

The HERS Leadership Institute is a prestigious transformational leadership development program for women in higher education. The distinguished program was “founded to fill leadership pipelines across the United States with dynamic women, each capable of ushering their respective institutions into a more inclusive and equitable future.” It exposes attendees to new ideas, fosters mentoring relationships, and prepares women for institutional leadership roles. 

Dr. Javiette Samuel is the Assistant Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Engagement and Director of Community Engagement and Outreach. As an experienced scholar, Dr. Samuel has an impressive combination of leadership, educational and creative skills. In her professional career, she has retained relationships with state, regional, and national partners, worked alongside many colleagues across campus to resolve complex issues, and provided unprecedented support to many. 

Dr. Ozlem Kilic is the Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs for the Tickle College of Engineering. Dr. Kilic is a member of many organizations and has a track record of leadership and a wealth of expertise in a variety of areas. She joined The University of Tennessee in 2019, and when selected as the new Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs, Kilic said, “I am very happy for the opportunity that awaits me at UT. I look forward to meeting faculty, students, and staff and helping the college thrive.” 

The monetary sponsorship for attendance at one of the HERS Leadership Institutes is awarded from the offices of Chancellor Donde Plowman and Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Engagement Tyvi Small.